top of page

MFCA inducts 7 into its Hall of Fame

On Saturday morning, April 16th, the Maryland High School Football Coaches Association (MFCA) held a Hall of Fame induction ceremony at the University Maryland’s Gosset Football Center in College Park to enshrine seven new members. The group included coaches Dave Cesky (Fallston), Jeff Herrick (Broadneck) and J.C. Pinkney (Douglass-PG); John W. Voight Award winners Stu Plank (Georgetown Prep) and Chuck Oswald (Quince Orchard); Lifetime Achievement Award winner Joe Russo (current MFCA Executive Director); and Jerry E. Mears Service Award winner Edward “Ned” Sparks (retired MPSSAA Executive Director). The ceremonies took place prior to Maryland’s annual Red-White Spring football game, the first under new head coach D.J. Durkin, and was attended by many current prior MFCA Hall of Fame inductees as well as other coaching colleagues. All seven of the new Hall of Famers were recognized at halftime for their great achievements. “The Baltimore Touchdown Club would like to thank President Joe Bosley and Executive Director Joe Russo for a job well done” said BTC Senior VP Scott Ripley. “Congratulations to the Hall of Fame inductees and the award winners.” In addition to Ripley, they Baltimore Touchdown Club was also represented by President Doug DuVall (Wilde Lake-Retired), Anne Arundel County area rep Chuck Markiewicz (Arundel), Past BTC President Mike Working (McDonogh/Mount St. Joseph-Retired) and former Baltimore City rep Roger Wrenn (Patterson/Poly-Retired). The names of the MFCA Hall of Famers will now appear on a wall dedicated to the great history of Maryland high school football, located on the outside of the Gossett Athletic Complex.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page